Vision

We are developing a platform and ecosystem for Quantum-inspired Artificial Intelligence, PlanQK for short. Users will be able to access a quantum AppStore, developers will be able to use quantum platforms in a simple way and specialists will be able to provide concepts that make quantum computing easily accessible.

News about PlanQK

Use Cases

Communal Registers AI

Automated linking of citizen information from so-called specialist procedures that are still separate today. The event of a change of address at the residents' registration office should automatically lead to the offer of a new residents' parking permit and the re-registration of waste disposal, without the systems communicating with each other via standardized interfaces. Thus a kind of recommendation system is created, which in turn can be solved as an optimization problem on quantum computers.

Duty Schedule Optimization

In duty schedule optimization, personnel resources must be assigned to different tasks. An example of this would be planning the technical field service or the technical maintenance service. This use case should also take into account that tasks often arise at short notice. For example, a Quantum Boltzmann Machine can be used to train a neural network with the data of older duty rosters and their short-term changes.

Water Anomaly Detection
in Public Buildings

Detection of pipe bursts and other faulty operating conditions via noises on the main water supply line. The early detection of pipe bursts, for example in sports halls and schools, is of great importance for administrations and insurance companies because of the potentially high damage sums. A Quantum Support Vector Machine, for example, can be used here as an application in the area of predictive maintenance.

Network Operation

In order to ensure a uniform operation of the core or access network, the load on all nodes and edges must be minimized. At the planning level, it is important to find a cost-minimum expansion of the capacity matrix (i.e. minimum network expansion costs) for a given development of the network throughput in order to operate the future volumes in the network with minimum "maximum utilization". For numerous related graph problems, formulations exist as optimization problems that can be solved or their solutions improved on the basis of QAOA or Quantum Annealing.

Industrial Production Lines

In a (sheet metal) production facility, it must be decided upon receipt of an order how parts are to be distributed on raw material sheets and when which of these raw material sheets are to be processed on which machine. Of course, the restrictions of the problems must be observed, e.g. a machine can only process one sheet at a time, the number of machines is given and an order must be completed within the time allowed. This Use Case can be treated as a Decision Making Problem using Quantum-enhanced Reinforcement Learning or as a linear equation system using HHL.

Customer Behavior Prediction

Customer Churn Prediction is the ability to identify the probability of a contract change from the customer's behaviour. Model-driven AI approaches can be used here, which learn a behavior model from customers and thus act similar to methods of predictive maintenance. Training an AI for concrete countermeasures (better offers, more direct contact, etc.) is promising here and could be supported by Quantum Reinforcement Learning, for example.

Testimonials

News rund um PlanQK

Über PlanQK

Wir entwickeln eine Plattform und ein Ökosystem für Quantenunterstützte Künstliche Intelligenz, kurz PlanQK. Nutzer sollen dabei auf einen Quanten-AppStore zugreifen können, Entwickler auf einfache Weise Quantum-Plattformen nutzen und Spezialisten Konzepte bereitstellen, die Quantum Computing einfach zugänglich machen.

Use Cases

caret-down caret-up caret-left caret-right

Kommunale Register KI

Automatisierte Verknüpfung von Bürgerinformationen aus bis heute getrennten sogenannten Fachverfahren. Das Ereignis einer Adressänderung beim Einwohnermeldeamt soll automatisch zu dem Angebot eines neuen Bewohnerparkausweises und der Ummeldung der Abfallentsorgung führen, ohne dass die Systeme über standardisierte Schnittstellen miteinander kommunizieren. Es entsteht also eine Art Empfehlungssystem, das wiederum als Optimierungsproblem auf Quantencomputern gelöst werden kann.

Scheduling und Dienstplanoptimierung

Bei der Dienstplanoptimierung müssen Personalressourcen verschiedenen Aufgaben zugeteilt werden. Ein Beispiel dafür wäre die Planung des technischen Außendienstes oder des technischen Wartungsdienstes. In diesem Use Case soll auch einfließen, dass Aufgaben oft kurzfristig auftauchen. Eine Quantum Boltzmann Machine kann z.B. genutzt werden um ein Neuronales Netzwerk mit den Daten älterer Dienstpläne und deren kurzfristigen Änderungen zu Trainieren.

 Wasseranomalieerkennung
in öffentlichen Gebäuden

Erkennung von Rohrbrüchen und sonstigen fehlerhaften Betriebszuständen über Geräusche auf der Hauptwasserzuleitung. Die frühzeitige Erkennung von Rohrbrüchen beispielsweise in Sporthallen und Schulen ist wegen der potenziell hohen Schadenssummen für Verwaltungen und Versicherungen von großer Bedeutung. Als Anwendung im Bereich Predictive Maintenance kann hier z.B. eine Quantum Support Vector Machine eingesetzt werden. 

Network Operation

Um einen gleichmäßigen Betrieb des Core- bzw. Access-Netzwerks zu gewährleisten muss die Auslastung aller Knoten und Kanten minimiert werden. Auf der planerischen Ebene gilt es, bei gegebener Entwicklung des Netzwerkdurchsatzes, eine kostenminimale Erweiterung der Kapazitätsmatrix (d.h. minimale Ausbaukosten des Netzwerkes) zu finden, um die zukünftigen Volumina im Netzwerk mit minimaler „maximaler Auslastung“ zu betreiben. Für zahlreiche verwandte Graphen-Probleme existieren Formulierungen als Optimierungsprobleme, die auf Basis von QAOA oder Quantum Annealing gelöst oder deren Lösungen verbessert werden können.

Industrial Production Lines

In einer (Blech-)Fertigung muss bei Eingang eines Auftrags entschieden werden, wie Teile auf Rohmaterialtafeln verteilt werden sollen und wann welche dieser Rohmaterialtafeln auf welcher Maschine bearbeitet werden soll. Dabei müssen selbstverständlich die Restriktionen der Probleme eingehalten werden, z.B. kann eine Maschine nur eine Tafel gleichzeitig bearbeiten, die Anzahl der Maschinen ist gegeben und ein Auftrag muss innerhalb der vorgesehenen Zeit abgeschlossen sein. Dieser Use Case kann als Decision Making Problem mittels Quantum-enhanced Reinforcement Learning oder als lineares Gleichungssystem mittels HHL behandelt werden.

Customer Behavior Prediction

Als "Customer Churn Prediction" bezeichnet man die Fähigkeit aus Verhalten des Kunden eine Wahrscheinlichkeit für einen Vertragswechsel zu erkennen. Hier können modellgetriebene KI-Ansätze zum Einsatz kommen, die ein Verhaltensmodell von Kunden lernen und damit ähnlich zu Methoden der Predictive Maintenance agieren. Ein Training einer KI auf konkrete Gegenmaßnahmen (bessere Angebote, mehr direkten Kontakt etc.) ist hier vielversprechend und könnte bspw. durch Quantum Reinforcement Learning unterstützt werden.

Testimonials